Spam Whore-dom

Posted by – January 14, 2009 – Share on Facebook

I submitted an official complaint to the FCC today re: 336events.com’s crappy and unrelenting spam. Should you wish to file one, use this FTC wizard through their Bureau of Consumer Protection. I also filed a complaint with “StreamSend,” the bulk mailer used to send this spam.

In the course of my morning complaining, I met the most outrageous unsubscribe I’ve ever seen. They REQUIRE my age? They EXPECT my income level and date of birth? That’s marketing whore-dom.

336-unsubscribe

This “336events” group is an out-of-state firm through a group called Deka Designs, owned by Kate Drake,  270 N 200 W Cedar City,  84720 phone: 1.4358650188 (should you wish to voice your opinion).  I cannot understand why sponsors would continue to support this out-of-state marketing whore apparatus.

5 Comments on Spam Whore-dom

Respond | Trackback

  1. darkmoon says:

    Yeah. They’ve been sending junk to ConvergeSouth too. I just blackholed them. At some point, I laugh maniacally since I’m helping in put their emails in the permanent “you’re a spammer” bin. That would be terribly amusing if they actually got on ROKSO’s list. haha

  2. Roch101 says:

    Who is sponsoring them?

  3. Sue says:

    @Roch The advertisers at the bottom of each email. They have a list of sponsors here but I’m not convinced those are paying customers and wouldn’t hassle them (yet). The page I linked to has this disclaimer (and the domain is owned by the same person as in the original post above):

    “You are receiving this email because you are on the Greensboro Arts and Culture email list of http://www.336events.com.
    To unsubscribe or update your information, please use the link at the bottom of this email.”

  4. darkmoon says:

    Further investigation:
    http://74.125.77.132/search?q=cache:Co9-kLjsbfQJ:www.localeventpics.com/336/sales/336SalesSheet.pdf+336events+partner&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=4&gl=us

    Shows that their office in Greensboro is 301 S. Elm St. Ste 427. Further look shows that Schmoozen Entertainment is also based there. And Triad Rewards LLC. Steven Czumaj is the name on that one out of that office. (336) 285-0158. Don’t ask me, but there’s a whole bunch of things running out of there it seems. Anyhow…. don’t feel like digging into it anymore. If anyone wants to look further, go nuts. I have my own things to deal with. :)

  5. Sue says:

    301 S. Elm is the Guilford Building, “http://www.schmoozen.com/” brings the same contact info that you found:
    Schmoozen Entertainment
    200 S. Elm St, Ste 234
    Greensboro, NC 27401
    336-285-0158

    Perhaps we need to tell Mr. Czumaj that the community is really upset with him. And I know not-just-a-few tenants in that building. Maybe they can chat with him about “manners.”

Respond

Comments

Comments

Comments will be sent to the moderation queue.